Join Our Mailing List!
Latest News:
Ancient American Historical Society Now Forming -- "For a limited time, interested individuals can obtain free membership in a new ..." -- 03 May 2021
Peters Township Recreation Offering Programs in ... -- "The Peters Township Recreation Center, located at 700 Meredith Drive, Venetia, ..." -- 03 May 2021
Local US Steel SOAR Chapter to Resume Monthly ... -- "Attention all US Steel SOAR members of Chapter 15-7 who normally meet at the ..." -- 03 May 2021
South Hills Interfaith Movement’s ‘Do More Good’ ... -- "With $5.4M raised, SHIM looks to raise additional funds to support and ..." -- 03 May 2021
Rostraver Sportsmens Association To Hold Pistol ... -- "The Rostraver Sportsmens Association located at 539 Cedar Creek Rd. in Belle ..." -- 03 May 2021
Port Vue United Methodist Christian Preschool ... -- "Port Vue United Methodist Church Christian Preschool is currently accepting ..." -- 03 May 2021
Finleyville Food Pantry Needs Volunteers -- "The Finleyville Food Pantry is looking for volunteers to help with unloading a ..." -- 03 May 2021
South Hills Coin Club Program on Irradiated Dimes -- "The monthly meeting of the South Hills Coin Club will be held Tuesday evening ..." -- 03 May 2021
Clothes 4U Ministry in Belle Vernon Open For Two ... -- "The Clothes 4U ministry of the First United Methodist Church, 200 State Street, ..." -- 03 May 2021

Local People

Monongahela Valley Hospital honored it employees, medical staff and board during the organization's 42nd Annual Service Awards Dinner on May 5 at the Willow Room in the Mon-Vale HealthPLEX in Rostraver.


Protin 2
Debbie Burkhardt, director, radiation oncology, received the 2014 Edward J. Protin Memorial Award. Pictured with her is radiology technologist Dale Varega, the 2103 Protin Award Winner.

Debbie Burkhardt, RT, (R) (T) (CT), director of radiation oncology, received the 2014 Edward J. Protin Memorial Award, one of the hospital's most prestigious honors.

Those eligible for the Protin Award have served the hospital for at least a decade, exhibited significant contributions to the health care system over and above what is required, and demonstrated the qualities of leadership, loyalty, compassion and empathy.

Last year's Protin Award recipient, radiology technologist Dale Varega, made the announcement.

"Our Protin awardee is a wonderful ambassador for Monongahela Valley Hospital who makes every person feel as though he or she is our most important patient or visitor," said Mr. Varega. "This employee greets new patients with a hug — never a handshake. Patients are put at ease with her caring attitude. If they are frightened, she even cries with them."

Mrs. Burkhardt was moved to tears as she accepted the award. "This is unbelievable," she said. "It is so unexpected. This award means so much to me. I feel so privileged to work for Mon Valley Hospital. Thank you very much."

Mrs. Burkhardt, of Donora, is passionate about breast cancer. As she says, "Breast cancer impacts 1 in 8 women and we are making wonderful strides treating people." Mrs. Burkhardt has been very involved with the annual MVH/Ducoeur Breast Cancer Walk since its second year. Another highlight of the evening was presenting awards to employees, medical staff and board members with 25 years of service.

Honorees included Kimberly Ashcraft; Lori A. Barkey; Beverly A. Clark; Yvonne Duncan; Sharon Ann Evans; Mary Ann Fonzi; Henry R. Glaneman, board member; Marie Hackinson; Cathy L. Henderson; Cathy A. Horrell; Carol A. Jones; Barbara A. MacPherson; Margaret A Majireck; Ajay Mathur, M.D.; Michelle Monte; Sudha Nayar, M.D.; Donna K. Pekar; Thomas B. Pinto, M.D.; Stacy L. Pryor; Erin Sinko; Charles E. Stacey, board member; Tuan-Ahn L. Ung, M.D.; Ronna Voelker; Gordon H. Watkins II; Candace L. West and Scott Zemba.

In addition, the hospital honored 14 staff who had 20 years of service; 13 staff with 15 years of service, 19 staff members with 10 years and 21 with five years. Employees with 30, 35, 40 and 45 years of service that were present were also honored with a gift.

MVH leaders also honored 21 recent retirees and remembered 19 members of the hospital family who passed away during the last year.

"Compassion, Innovation, Dedication: The Commitment Continues" was the theme of the annual dinner celebrating MVH employees, physicians and board members.


Protin 1
Recipients of 25 year service awards

In the the photo at right:  These Monongahela Valley Hospital employees were honored for 25 years of service. Seated (l-r) are: Ronna Voelker; Beverly Clark; Barbara MacPherson; Mary Ann Fonzi; Sharon Thomas; Margaret Majireck; Lori Barkey and Cathy Henderson. Standing (l-r) are: Kim Ashcraft; Michelle Monte; Candy West; Marie Hackinson; Ajay Mathur, M.D.; Henry R. Glaneman; Scott Zemba; Gordon H. Watkins II; Yvonne Duncan and Erin Sinko.




Pizza Station


Mon Valley Hospital

  • Prev
  • Featured Advertisers
Scroll to top